MA Hypermedia Studies

1 year full-time or 2 year part-time day


The MA in Hypermedia Studies is a postgraduate course for artist-engineers of the digital future. The course combines theoretical analysis with practical research and exploration. By doing so this Masters provides students with the skills and understanding needed to ride the wave of technological and cultural innovation created by the convergence of media, telecommunications and computing.

Students conclude their studies with undertake a practical project-centred on the production of a piece of cutting-edge research work for an end-user, such as a commercial company, community group or public institution - and a dissertation to be published on the Net.

Key themes

The social, political, technological and cultural impact of the new digital media.

Conceptualising, authoring and publishing hypermedia applications.


The modules include:
History of Convergence
Contemporary Debates in Hypermedia
Software Design
Interactive Media Design
Virtual Communities

Entry requirements

Applicants should already have a knowledge of the commonly-used computer software programmes including code such as HTML, and a good first degree (normally a first or upper second in a subject which prepared them adequately in both theory and practice). Applicants may also be assessed on the presentation of a portfolio of practical work and evidence of theoretical research, such as an undergraduate dissertation. Applicants who do not meet these requirements but who can prove their ability to conduct both theoretical and practical research may also be considered on the strength of experience and other qualifications. They may be required to complete a practical assignment.


Harrow Campus

Entry Requirements

Undergraduate degree or equivalent (see above).

Epaminondas Cambanis Eunjung Chang Andry Ratovondrahona Rasha Ezzeddine Markus Grupp
Sonja Lakner Zamiha Manji Nicolyn Marino Oseila Rashid Umaporn Richardson-Saema
Mark Smith Ricardo Amaral Svetislav Bankerovic Larisa Blazic
Arthi Amaran Heiki Mannik Samantha McKellar Christopher Gameson Titilola Majekodunmi
Edward Cookson Joanna Griffin Matt Knight nothing for you here
Lucy Blake Maria Luisa Cavalcanti Alves Sacha Davidson Rod Dickinson Tony Momoh
Lizzie O'Grady Andrew Purdy Joan Smith Tatiana Vallejo-Guzman nothing for you here